Cognia Accredited | 2022 National Blue Ribbon School | College Prep

Eight SkyHawks Recognized By National Merit Scholarship Program


Skutt Catholic seniors Joseph McAuliffe, Joshua Gromowsky, Nathan Fletcher, and Samuel Delperdang have been named Finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program, making them eligible for one of the 7,500 merit scholarships awarded each year.   

Each year, about 1.6 million students take the PSAT/NMSQT®. Of the juniors taking the exam, about 16,000 (the top 1%) earn scores that qualify them as Semifinalists. This group is narrowed down to 15,000 who become Finalists.



Five Skutt Catholic students were named Semifinalists in the program last fall — the four Finalists and senior Nate Meister.  Only the top 1% of academically talented high school seniors across the nation make it to this level.



Cecilia Ferrer and Louis Sully were named Commended Scholars by the National Merit Scholarship program. About 34,000 Commended Scholars are recognized for their exceptional academic promise.



Cecilia Ferrer (also a Commended Scholar) and Will Grossjung were invited by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) to be included in the National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP). While no scholarship money is tied to the program, the academic honor helps students earn school-based scholarships.

The program was initiated in 1983 to identify outstanding Hispanic high school students and to share information about these academically well-prepared students with subscribing colleges and universities. Each year the NHRP identifies approximately 7,000 of the highest-scoring students from a nationwide total of 250,000 high school juniors who took the PSAT/NMSQT® and designated themselves as Hispanic.


NMSC is a not-for-profit organization was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program, with the goal of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.


Skip to content